8 Questions with J.C. Hutchins

I managed to distract one of the hardest working movers and shakers in podcasting J.C Hutchins long enough to get answers to another round of 8 Questions.

1 ) You are the hardest self marketer I have ever met (well met virtually).  What instilled that work / pimpage ethic in you?

Watching my father. After my folks divorced when I was a kid, my sister and I spent most of our time living with my dad. He worked three jobs to keep us fed, and the lights on. It taught me the value of hard work.

2 ) The Ultimate Steel Cage Podcaster Deathmatch – Who do you see competing and who do you see winning?

Since it’s the Ultimate Steel Cage Deathmatch, I reckon only the most brilliant and popular podcasters would compete — true trailblazing powerhouses such as Leo Laporte, the Ask A Ninja ninja, Keith and the Girl, the Diggnation guys, etc.  I have boundless admiration for these peeps, but the Ask A Ninja ninja would emerge victorious. Because he’s a ninja.

3 ) You and Matt F’n Wallace collaborated on a piece for a Personal Effects: Sword of Blood Giveaway and you and Matthew Wayne Selznick Collaborated on Anyman: The John Smith E.P.- Any other Collaborations in the future that you can tell us about, and are there any collaborations that you’d like to take part in?

Yep, you’ll see more collaborations from me in 2010. Nope, I can’t breathe a word about them right now. As for collaborations I’d like to take part in: Sure, if the compensation is equitable. Pay me enough and I’ll write whatever you want!

4 ) You started out in journalism.  What caused you to step away from mainstream journalism into the realm of podcast journalism and podcast fiction? – Or Basically How did you get into Podcasting?

I didn’t leave journalism to embrace new media. Podcasting as we know it didn’t exist back in 2002! I left the print j-biz because I saw that the industry was imploding. I also wanted to have the creative energy to write my book, 7th Son. I switched careers, and snagged a gig that was less creatively demanding during business hours. I wrote the book at home.

5 ) What was your first reaction to 7th Son being Optioned for a Motion Picture? And speaking of the option how’s that going?

That deal was in the works for a long time; by the time the ink was dry, I was more relieved than anything else. But it was very exciting! I don’t have news about the movie, other than that it is “in development,” and a script is being written. When I learn more, my fans will be the first to know.

6 ) What was your worst Fanboy / FanGirl moment – Both from the viewpoint of you as a fanboy, and then you as the object of fanboydom / fangirldom?

I can’t think of any, honestly. All the fans I’ve personally met have been kind and gracious. They rule.

7 ) Any Guilty Childish pleasures that you still indulge in Footie PJs   or a big bowl of sugary cereal to get your day started?

Caffeine and nicotine are my guilty pleasures..

8 ) When did you start writing and Why?  Do you remember that “1st” story?

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember. I love telling stories! I can’t remember by “first” story, but I do have vivid memories of writing my own Choose Your Own Adventure books when I was a kid. Even then, I was interested in new ways to tell stories!

** For those that don’t know who J.C. Hutchins is… how the hell do you know who I am but not him???  Really he’s J.C. Hutchins – Author of Personal Effects: Dark Art and 7th Son Descent (book one of a trilogy) Both in print go buy them now they are kickass keep you on the edge of your seat if you don’t have a seat get one or you’ll tip the hell over novels.  He is the hardest working mover and shaker I’ve seen as far as marketing Podcast Fiction.

Hutchins Search at Podiobooks .com http://www.podiobooks.com/podiobooks/search.php?keyword=hutchins

JC Hutchins’s Website http://jchutchins.net/

Also Mentioned in this Podcast

Matt Fucking Wallace – Last line of Defense against the Ninja Invasion – a dose of Matt Fucking Wallace a day keeps the Ninjas away – http://matt-wallace.com/

And Let’s not forget to mention the Musical Voice of John Smith Matthew Wayne Selznik another great Writer/ Musician  – http://www.mattselznick.com/

About rasplundjr

Smart Alec Family Man, Helpdesk Geek, Wannabe Writer, Wannabe Podcaster, Not a guru just a guy, Viking Wannabe, and Irreverent Critic

Posted on January 25, 2010, in 8 Questions, Podcasters, Pure Pimpage, Site and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

