8 Questions with Justin Macumber of the Dead Robots Society.

It’s Monday my friends and followers and stalkers.. (yeah you I noticed you back there with the live chicken and the weedhacker… sick freak… doesnt’ understand 500 yds… ) and we all know what that means – More bitching from Garfield.. No it means another round of 8 Questions. – Today we have Justin Macumber the creator and one of the original hosts of the Dead Robots Society that is still with the show.  Justin also had a short Story featured in Ray Gun Revival, and has podcasted that Story (now a Chapbook available from his website below) The Story is – The Ties that Bind a Tale of the Breaking Dawn – I Liked it a lot I recoment you go download it right now… I’ll wait… really.  He also has another Chapbook that he podcasted – The Pirates of the Crimson Sands – also available at his website (also well done in my not so humble opinion).  Justin is a fun and talented writer and host of the Dead robots Society, plus all around really great, friendly, and helpful guy.
On to the Interogatio.. er Interview… yeah Interview… (and for the record no Dead Robots were harmed during the making of this 8 Questions no matter what Justin says… )

1 ) What prompted you to create the DRS?

1. I had been listening to podcasts for a couple of years, and hearing so many normal individuals like me find a way to express themselves in a way that touched the lives of similar fans was empowering. I wasn’t sure what topic I was versed or passionate enough about to create a podcast around until I started listening to Mur Lafferty’s “I Should Be Writing” and Michael Stackpole’s “The Secrets” podcasts. Then it hit me – writing. I came up with the title Dead Robots’ Society pretty quickly after that, and the rest is history.
2 ) Are you guys ever gonna stop giving Ryan grief over the “Topless Street Crossing”?

2. Maybe, but we’ll never stop giving him grief about SOMETHING. I mean come on, the guy’s Canadian – he’s got it coming. So damn smug and superior…

3 ) How did you get into Podcasting?

3. After coming up with the name and the theme, I started hunting around for ideas on where to host the show, what sort of equipment I needed, software, and then I made an effort to find hosts who were like me – young(ish), aspiring, fun, and vocal. Getting hosting and a recording rig together were easy compared to finding the right people to host the show with me. We’ve gone through several over the two plus years we’ve done the show, and I’ve loved them all. Ryan, though, has been with me since the beginning, and I wish the guy lived closer so that we could be friends in the real world. I really like him, despite all the crap I give him. He’s good people. Terry started out as a listener and contest winner before we asked him to join us full time when some hosting chairs went empty, and it’s been the three of us for over a year now. We’ve had people ask to come on as hosts, and we’re talking about it, but the problem with it is that the more voices you have, the more difficult interviews and discussions become. If we were all in the same room it might be different, where we can see each other wanting to say something, but online we occasionally trip over each other and interrupt one another, and that gets worse the more people you have on. We’re talking about it though, so there might be more co-host changes in the future.

4 ) You had a four parter short story , I believe it was The Ties that Bind (loved the podcast version of it btw) printed in Ray Gun Revival, anything else coming in print in the near future?

4. I’ve been fortunate in that I’ve been able to have my stories do overtime work for me, appearing in more than one publication or website. “The Ties That Bind,” for example, was not only in Ray Gun Revival, but it also won Honorable Mention in the Writers Of The Future Contest, and I’ve self-published it for the Kindle, the iPhone, and in paperback form via CreateSpace. There’s also a free PDF version, all of which are available from my site (www.justinmacumber.com). Coming up I have a short story appearing in two publications at once. It’s called “Pirates of the Crimson Sands.” It was previously published in eMuse, but next up it will be appearing in the print version of Golden Visions Magazine of Science Fiction & Fantasy, and soon after it will be in a print anthology of podcasted short stories called “No Subscription Necessary: Dark, Light & Twisted Tales from the Podosphere.” I’m incredibly proud of the success both of these short stories have had, and it’s proof positive that a story can get you a lot of mileage if you try hard enough.

5 ) When did you start writing and Why?  Do you remember that “1st” story?

5. I wish I could say that I’d been writing since my hand could hold a pencil, but that isn’t the case. As a kid I was more interested in drawing. I was never very good at it, but enough people encouraged me to keep at it that I made it my central artistic focus for more years than I should have. But, as a teenager I played a lot of Dungeons & Dragons, and one of my favorite things to do was to write the adventures my party would play through rather than use a store bought manual. I also dabbled a little in writing my own comic book, but I was more interested in the art side of it than the story, which I guess is why I eventually gave it up. In high school, though, I had two teachers who really took an interest in my writing, and who pushed me to do more of it. Because of them, and because of a little movie I saw called “The Dead Poets’ Society,” I shifted my attention from drawing to writing, and I’ve not looked back since.

6 ) Of the guests you’ve had on the show so far were there any that gave you that “HOLY CRAP we get to talk to _____!!!!111One One!” moment?

6. Oh sure. My first giddy interview came with Tracy Hickman. My childhood was filled with the stories that he and Margaret Weis wrote, and to this day I consider the man a master. So, when I got up the courage to ask him to be on our show, and he said yes, I nearly fell out of my seat. And then, when he was finally on the air with us, I really was just gobsmacked. Listening back to that show is painful, because I sound like such a fanboy sycophant. We’ve had Tracy on a couple of times since then, and the man is a pleasure to talk with. He’s gracious, he’s easy to talk to, he knows very much whereof he speaks, and he’s one of the nicest people I’ve ever met. I feel incredibly fortunate that I can call him my friend. We’ve interviewed a lot of people, though, and I can’t say that a single one of them was ever rude or difficult. Doing this show, and speaking with these people, has reaffirmed my faith in the writing community. Now if only I could get Stephen King and Joss Whedon on the show… THEN you’d see real slobbering sycophancy.

(Editor Note – Really Who wouldn’t?)

7 ) Seriously the first thing you noticed about PG was Tiny Feet?

7. Have you seen his feet?! They’re tiny! Like a doll’s feet! When I met him he seemed so normal, but as soon as my eyes went to the floor and I saw those nubs for feet, I was amazed. Luckily the guy has enough intellect and charm to draw your attention away from it. And, I must say, the guy is damn handsome. Ladies, don’t let his small feet turn you away. I’m sure that isn’t an indicator of anything else.

8 ) Have there been any guests that you’ve been trying to get on the show but just haven’e been able to synch schedules?

8. Not really. For awhile getting Scott Sigler on the podcast seemed like some kind of cruel snipe hunt, but eventually we brought that beast to ground and wrangled him kicking and screaming onto the show. Everyone else, though, came on without too much difficulty. I’d like to have Michael Moorcock on, and he said he’d do it, but we have to wait for his schedule to clear up in the next couple of months. His Elric books were nearly as influential to me in my youth as Tracy Hickman was, so having him on will be wonderful. Might even be able to get PG to come out of retirement for that.

**Okay since some of the questions have more than one part technically this is more than 8 questions but meh…..

Bonus Questions – You don’t have to answer these but you can if you want.
b1 ) What is the air speed velocity of an unladen swallow?

b1. An African or European swallow? And really, isn’t that kind of racist?

b2 ) 42 is the answer but what is the question?

b2. The pants size I’d like to get back down to one day. Or the meaning of life. Your choice.

b3 ) If at first you don’t succeed _____________ (fill in the Blank)

b3. If at first you don’t succeed, give up and figure something else out for you life, because obviously that wasn’t it.

Justin can be found at his own Website http://www.justinmacumber.com/

as well as at the Dead Robots Society website http://deadrobotssociety.com/

and of course on Twitter as @JustinMacumber and @DRSPodcast

About rasplundjr

Smart Alec Family Man, Helpdesk Geek, Wannabe Writer, Wannabe Podcaster, Not a guru just a guy, Viking Wannabe, and Irreverent Critic

Posted on February 15, 2010, in 8 Questions, Podcast, Podcasters and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

