8 Questions with Scott Roche aka the @SpiritualTramp

Well it’s Monday again so we all know what that means, It’s time to take the skinheads bowling for soup… or maybe that’s the cold medicine mixing old Dr. Demento songs and kickass bands… Anyways It’s time once again for another exercise in randomnesssssssssssssssssssssssssss 8 Questions, this week we feature the rascally roguish champion of faith the wily wacky witty warlord or the written word the Italian Stallion Rocky Balboa!!!!… huh what … hmmm apparently Rocky Balboa is a fictional character and a boxer so I guess We’ll feature Spiritual Tramp aka Scott Roche instead.

1 ) When did you start writing and Why?  Do you remember that “1st” story

The first story I recall writing was a rip off of the Mack Bolan books I read as a kid.  I’m sure there were stories before that one.  I role played for years and was a voracious reader, so writing just seemed like a natural extension of those things.  I didn’t start writing seriously until I was an adult though.  It spawned from a time in my life where I just didn’t have any creative outlets and so I wrote to keep “sane”.  I wish I hadn’t waited as long as I did.  But it’s never too late to start.

2 ) What inspired Archangel?

As I said I used to role play and I created a character for a horror game that a friend was running.  He was a twelve year old kid who saw his parents get killed by some monsters.  When I decided to do NaNoWriMo a few years ago the character came to mind.  I decided I wanted to see what he was like all grown up.  That character became Matthew York, the protagonist for Archangel.  I wanted a guy who reflected my faith, but who wasn’t a cardboard cutout Christian.  Matt has a lot of inner demons and it’s fun to work those out and torture him a little.

3 ) How did you get into Podcasting?

I got an iPod from my mother in law a few years ago and discovered all of this cool free content out there.  I listened to all the “usual suspects” for quite some time.  After a while the creator in me decided to try and make one on my own.  My first few forays were… clumsy, but it was just so much fun that I kept working at it and working at it.  I still am.

4 ) You went from a straight read to a full cast – Do you regret that decision or fell you made the best choice for the story going for quality vs efficiency?

I never regret learning something new.  For me it wasn’t about quality or efficiency, it was about trying something I’d never done before.  Now that I’ve done some of both I’m not sure what my next project will look like.  There are certainly advantages and drawbacks to the different methods.  I will say that I have no desire to do something quite as complicated as a Morevi or Metamor City.  Those guys really pull out all the stops.  On the other hand, I do so love working with the voice talent I’ve gotten to know over the last year.  The biggest thing I’ve learned from this whole process is that I really need to have a lot more work done up front before I start releasing ‘casts.  I didn’t have all my ducks in a row and as a result the release schedule for Archangel: Legion has suffered a bit.

5 ) Any plans for more Podcasting under the Kilt episodes?

I do.  There’s a lot of wisdom and experience out there and I think the more ways we distribute that, the more we benefit as a community.  My first episode was ambitious in terms of the amount of production involved.  I’ve spent some time thinking through that and I need to find a way to streamline the process.

6 ) Do you ever find yourself getting in the way of your own faith?

Heh.  Quite often, yes.  My wife tells me that I think too much.  By that I think she means that I brood over things and over complicate them.  We’re to come to God with faith as a child.  That doesn’t mean don’t ask questions.  As a dad I’m sure you know kids are full of questions.  I think that means we need to realize that we don’t know is all and we never will.  It means we can rest in that knowledge, knowing that a being much larger and wiser than us has things under control and we can just enjoy creation and play, question, and love to the best of our ability.  Resting in that can be a challenge.

7 ) What’s the next project After Archangel?

Well I’m about halfway through three larger pieces of fiction.  They’re all very interesting to me and they all need quite a bit of work before they’re ready for prime time.  I think the next thing I want to do until one of them is ready is to work put out more Podcasting: Under the Kilt, reboot the podcast my wife and I did back in 2008, and maybe put out some short stories every other week like Zach Ricks is doing with Mad Poet Files. Think that’s enough?

8 ) You also help out other podcasts on the productions side – what projects have you been a part of / Currently help out on?

I’m pretty consistently helping Christ Lester with Metamor and I occasionally help PG Holyfield with his projects.  His stuff is on hold until Avedon Hill goes into print.  I’ve also helped Jeff Hite with his Great Hites anthology podcast.  For him I did some narration and co-hosting.  That’s one thing I love about this community.  People are more than willing to help, all you have to do is ask.

**Okay since some of the questions have more than one part technically this is more than 8 questions but meh…..

Bonus Questions – You don’t have to answer these but you can if you want.

b1) What is the air speed velocity of an unladen swallow?

Faster than the air speed of a laden swallow I would imagine.

b2) 42 is the answer but what is the question?

What was my number on the company softball league? (Yes I’m that much of a geek.)

b3) If at first you don’t succeed _____________ (fill in the Blank)

don’t put off leading leading that horse to water until he puts his nose to the grindstone.

Scott can be found on the web at

http://www.spiritualtramp.com/

http://www.spiritualtramp.com/

and as @SpiritualTramp on twitter

About rasplundjr

Smart Alec Family Man, Helpdesk Geek, Wannabe Writer, Wannabe Podcaster, Not a guru just a guy, Viking Wannabe, and Irreverent Critic

Posted on March 8, 2010, in 8 Questions, Book, Podcast, Podcasters, Pure Pimpage. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. That was really fun to read. Thanks for doing this interview you guys, I look forward to more of them. Great questions rasplundjr.

    • I look forward to doing more of them… or at least sideways… but never bacward puts way too much strain on the neck….

      Seriously though glad you enjoy the insights I can bring into some truly fine writers and podcasters.

  2. Thanks for the opportunity to babble man!

    • No prob bro. Glad to shine the spotlight away from the Big boys for a moment and let some the rest of us have the attention.

Leave a Reply

