Our Guys and Gals in Uniform

Sunday marks the day we in America celebrate our Independence.  It’s a very special day to all of us though most of us use it as an excuse to get obliterated then obliterate things with small explosive charges.  I want to stand back a moment and appreciate the men and Women who have served this nation proudly, are currently serving proudly, and those that will serve proudly, and their families.

To those of you in the armed forces keeping our way of life safe here and abroad thank you.  I can never truly express how proud I am when I see a man or woman walking down the street in uniform.  I want to stop and say thank you but I’m a shy coward.  I truly do thank you and am proud to have been in your presence.

To the families of the men and women who serve, I thank you for the courage to support your loved one.  I pray they make it back to you safe and sound.  To those that have lost loved ones, I truly cannot begin to know how you feel, and honestly I pray that I never find out as I have a son and nephew / unofficial Godson that plan on joining the military.  My condolences to you, and my gratitude towards your loved one’s sacrifice.

There are others closer to home that need to be thought of.  Our Police and Fire Departments and our EMS Crews out there close to home protecting us.  They risk their lives on a daily basis too.  Hell police can get drawn on for pulling someone over for speeding, firefighters run INTO buildings that most sane people are running out of to save our asses, and medics are sometimes up to their elbows in bio hazardous substances to put us back together.   Thank you.

To ALL of our protectors out there I believe we live in a very fucked up place where a guy can get millions for carrying a ball down a field hopped up on steroids and who knows what else, and you get paid too little to protect our lives and freedom from enemies foreign and domestic.

Next time you see a hero in uniform (or out if you know they’re off duty/ on leave) thank them.  Thank them for all the ungrateful fucks out there that forget to thank them.  And please thank them for me, Richard D. Asplund Jr.

Needless to say if you have served / are serving either in the Military, or our local Law, Fire and EMS services and are reading this thank you.  If you know someone that has served / is serving  please forward them the link to this post.  And don’t forget to thank them.  I don’t think we could ever thank them enough if we each thanked them all every second for the next billion seconds.

Thank you for your time.  Americans / Those visiting America – Have a safe, happy , and fun Interdependence day.  For those outside the US Happy 4th of July / Sunday.

About rasplundjr

Smart Alec Family Man, Helpdesk Geek, Wannabe Writer, Wannabe Podcaster, Not a guru just a guy, Viking Wannabe, and Irreverent Critic

Posted on July 1, 2010, in Heroes, Pure Pimpage, Worthy Causes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment