Worthy Cause – Local Volunteer Emergency Services

My Dad was a volunteer Firefighter when I was little – Hell before I was born, he also dove for the Sheriff’s Marine Unite pulling bodies out of Lakes and Rivers.  Later in life I actually earned myself a EMT-D Certification, I have many family members and friends that have been part of Emergency Services – Fire, Police, Medics, Rescue.  The Volunteer services need your support, almost every town I can think of has at least one volunteer department out of the three, sometimes more than one under the same building.  One thing I’d like you to take into consideration – these crazy er… brave men and women run into danger to keep you safe from it.  These men and women deserve our help, our support, and our thanks.  If you know anyone that takes parts in these services – Thank them for me – or point them here to the blog so they can read my thanks themselves.

Do what you can to help out your local volunteer departments, a few bucks here at their local chili dinners, or whatever fundraisers they put up goes to help them keep you and yours SAFER what better cause is that.

No links because there are too many communities to link all the volunteer services – this one is gonna require legwork.

If you are a volunteer Fire Fighter, Medic, or Officer, or take part in any other volunteer activity associated with Rescue / Public Safety that I’ve overlooked (and if I have I apologize but leave a comment and educate me) I thank you.  People like you are what gives me hope that mankind is not past the point of redemption.  Be safe.

Atheists can stop reading at this point, it’ll just piss you off.

Lord bless the men and women who look after the rest of us, guide them, give them the strength and endurance to perform their tasks then bring them home safe and sound, and thank you for their shining example. Amen.

About rasplundjr

Smart Alec Family Man, Helpdesk Geek, Wannabe Writer, Wannabe Podcaster, Not a guru just a guy, Viking Wannabe, and Irreverent Critic

Posted on July 19, 2010, in Heroes, Pure Pimpage, Worthy Causes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

