WORTHY CAUSES: Alzheimer’s

There are a lot of worthy causes out there that deserve our time and attention and if we can afford it our help. You don’t have to donate money, you can donate time. If you don’t have money or time there are many causes out there that will take old crap around the house that you don’t need anymore. As always if you don’t like the cause I’m boosting today then by all means do something for a cause that does mean something near and dear to you.

I want to try to give back to the world in at least some capacity.

These are meant to boost the signal. Not everything I put in here is going to be your kind of thing to support. I recognize that and ask that if you are against any of the causes that I put up for my Worthy Causes posts please do not comment publicly. You are more than welcome to message me privately and we can have a discussion or you can vent all you want. Don’t try to knock out the legs beneath the people that can benefit from a cause because you don’t agree with it.

I have one rule for the comments section of all my social media. Don’t be a dick.

I relaunch Worthy Causes by attempting to boost the signal on a cause that meant a lot to my late mother. Alzheimer’s.

So without further ado – In loving memory and honor of my late grandmothers Edna Elliot, and Loretta Fugate, and my late mother Shirley Asplund. I miss you and I love you.

My late grandmother was afflicted with Alzheimer’s and my mom was terrified that he would end up with it. My mother passed on without ever having signs that it had onset.

It broke our hearts seeing my once vibrant and whip smart grandmother trundle slowly down the road to dementia. My sister Sheila and her family moved in with Gramma and took care of her in her decline. Every once in a while Mom would have Sheila bring Gramma to our place to stay for a few days so Sheila and her family could have a few days off. I was working midnights at the time, it was a day off so I was up at God Awful thirty in the morning as that was what my body was used to. Gramma came rushing out of the room we had her set up in yelling “Where am I? I’ve got to get home to my husband!” I intercepted her, she did not recognize me at all. I explained she was at her daughter Shirley’s house I was her grandson Richie. None of that registered. I asked her who she was trying to get home to. She replied Ezra.

My grandfather Ezra passed on long before my birth. I was in my twenties. I had to explain to her that he had passed on. Then she shook her head and said that she had meant Harold. Grampa Harold passed when I was twelve. The look of heartbreak that came across her face when I had to tell her that both of the husbands that she had loved with all her heart were gone was terrible. I don’t wish that kind of anguish on anyone. Seeing her confusion and her loss like it was fresh was something I never want to go through again. And I fear that I may not have to but someone may have to do that with me.

Alzheimer’s has family history and I have that in my grandmother. Alzheimer’s from some research I’ve heard has a tendency to run a higher risk in those with Diabetes. I am a diabetic.

So for me this is a little selfish. I want the beast that fell one of the greatest women I ever knew and loved to have its ass royally kicked, and I don’t want my family to go through with me what we had to watching my gramma decline and not be able to stop or slow the progression.

For more information please look at the links listed below.

Taken from www.ALZ.ORG

What is ALZHIMER’S

Alzheimer’s is a type of dementia that causes problems with memory, thinking and behavior. Symptoms usually develop slowly and get worse over time, becoming severe enough to interfere with daily tasks.

If you would like to help out/donate you can check out any of the links in this post.

Right Focus Foundation – https://support.brightfocus.org

Alzheimer’s Foundation of America – https://alzfdn.org

Charity Navigator – Site that rates various Charities the link below has the search set for Alzheimer’s https://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?keyword_list=Alzheimer%27s&bay=search.results

Coming soon:

I plan on boosting the signal of many different charities and causes all around the world. If you have a signal that needs boosting please let me know. If you are asking me to boost a signal I ask that you Give me the name of the cause (if it is an acronym please also give me the full name). I also require a URL where I can look up more information and forward others to so they can look up more information and do what they can to help out your cause.

You can always send suggestions for Worthy Causes (or even general Pimpage) to randompimpage@gmail.com

About rasplundjr

Smart Alec Family Man, Helpdesk Geek, Wannabe Writer, Wannabe Podcaster, Not a guru just a guy, Viking Wannabe, and Irreverent Critic

Posted on July 25, 2018, in Personal, Pure Pimpage, Worthy Causes. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment